Research Cooperation International Energy Agency – Energy Technology Network

Information about the IEA and the Energy Technology Network
The International Energy Agency (IEA) was established in 1974 in response to the oil crisis of 1973 as an autonomous unit of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) based in Paris. Austria is one of the 16 founding members of the IEA, which now has 29 members.

The IEA’s original mission was to reduce dependence on the oil exporting countries and to develop a coordinated strategy and crisis management to safeguard oil supplies. This mission was later complemented by the development and dissemination of new energy technologies and efficient end-use technologies.
Owner of programme / investor
Target group SME, Large enterprises, Universities, Universities of applied sciences, Competence centres, Research facilities, Single researchers, Start-up
Topic Environment and energy
Type of service Funding
Förderinstrument C17 F&E-Dienstleistungen
FFG Unit of organisation Thematic programmes
See allSee less

Cooperation between countries and researchers in the field of RTI currently takes place within the scope of 41 ‘Implementing Agreements’. The activities range from research and standardisation through to dissemination and market introduction measures.

Each Member State additionally delegates a representative to the Working Parties established in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, fossil fuels and fusion. The Working Parties support the work of the thematically related Implementing Agreements. The Committee on Energy Research and Technology (CERT) oversees and guides the RTI activities within the IEA.