Innovation for a Better World - Advanced Solutions for Sustainable Development

Pilot collaboration between the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) and the Austrian Development Agency (ADA) on frugal innovation in Austria and the Western Balkans.

About the project

Frugal innovations rely on a “do more with less” approach to provide high-quality, resource-light and affordable products and services in response to the specific needs of a target group. When designed effectively, frugal innovations can contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by addressing issues that are often underserved by markets and institutions, through resource-efficient solutions that are affordable and easily available to a large number of people.

Gaining a deep understanding of the issue at hand is an essential and complex aspect of developing successful frugal innovations. To tackle this challenge, the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) and the Austrian Development Agency (ADA), the operational unit of Austrian Development Cooperation, have teamed up to explore how to best support projects that aim to address a problem through frugal innovation.

Their joint project “Innovation for a Better World – Advanced Solutions for Sustainable Development” looks into the feasibility and implementation possibilities of a new funding scheme for frugal innovation in the Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia).

What is frugal innovation?

In the context of this project, frugal innovation is understood as an approach which delivers "affordable excellence” tailored to the needs of an underserved market: “Frugal innovations seek to create attractive value propositions for their targeted customer groups by focusing on core functionalities and thus minimizing the use of material and financial resources in the complete value chain. They substantially reduce the cost of usage and/or ownership while fulfilling or even exceeding prescribed quality standards.” (Tiwari, Fischer and Kalogerakis, March 2016)

Full citation: Tiwari, R., Fischer, L. and Kalogerakis, K. (2016): “Frugal Innovation in Scholarly and Social Discourse: An Assessment of Trends and Potential Societal Implications”, joint working paper of Fraunhofer MOEZ Leipzig and Hamburg University of Technology in the BMBF-ITA project, Leipzig and Hamburg.

Funding opportunities

Ready to apply? FFG’s Impact Innovation and ADA’s Business Partnership scheme funding calls are accepting applications for projects that contribute to the SDGs and are in line with the principles of frugal innovation.

Are you working on defining a problem that could be addressed using frugal innovation? Are you elaborating an impactful solution for the Western Balkans region and are in need of financial support to further develop your idea? Are you ready to kick-off your project and are looking for funding to start rolling-out your project? As part of the pilot project, ADA and FFG are opening two existing funding calls to projects that create positive impact through frugal innovation principles.

Newsletter - sign up!

To find out more about the project, frugal innovation and upcoming events, sign up to our project newsletter.

Contact

Dr. Maria Fischinger
Dr. Maria Fischinger
Frugale Innovation
T +43 5 7755 1216
maria.fischinger@ffg.at

Consortium

The “Innovation for a Better World - Advanced Solutions for Sustainable Development” project is mandated by FFG and ADA. It is implemented by Impact Hub Vienna together with a consortium of partners composed of  288 Grad Consulting (Austria), Center for Social Innovation (Austria) and Smart Kolektiv (Serbia).

Innovation für eine bessere Welt - Zukunftsweisende Lösungen für nachhaltige Entwicklungen

Um frugale Innovation in Österreich und im Westbalkan zu unterstützen, wurde ein gemeinsames Pilotprojekt der Austrian Development Agency (ADA) und der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) ins Leben gerufen.

Über das Projekt

Frugale Innovationen setzen auf einen „weniger ist mehr“-Ansatz. Sie bieten hochqualitative, ressourcenschonende Produkte und Services und helfen so, den speziellen Bedürfnissen unterschiedlicher Zielgruppen gerecht zu werden. Werden frugale Innovationen effektiv konzipiert, können diese zu den Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) beitragen, indem sie Bereiche thematisieren, die von traditionellen Märkten und Institutionen oft übersehen werden. Dies gelingt durch ressourceneffiziente Lösungen, die leistbar und für eine große Personenanzahl einfach erhältlich sind.

Ein tiefgründiges Verständnis des ursächlicher Probleme zu erhalten, ist der Grundstein jedes Entwicklungsprozesses frugaler Innovation. Um diese Herausforderung zu bewältigen haben sich die Austrian Development Agency (ADA), die Agentur  der Österreichischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und die Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) zusammengeschlossen, um herauszufinden, wie man Projekte, die Probleme durch frugale Innovation lösen, bestmöglich unterstützt.

Das gemeinsame Projekt “Innovation für eine bessere Welt – zukunftsorientierte Lösungen für nachhaltige Entwicklung” analysiert die Möglichkeiten der Umsetz- und Durchführbarkeit eines neuen Finanzierungsprogrammes für frugale Innovationen im Westbalkan (Albanien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Nord-Mazedonien, Serbien) in Hinblick auf die Verwirklichung der 17 Globalen Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung.(Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs).

Was ist Frugale Innovation?

Im Kontext dieses Projektes wird frugale Innovation als ein Ansatz verstanden, der “leistbare Exzellenz” liefert, die an die Bedürfnisse eines übersehenen Marktpotenzials angepasst ist: “Frugale Innovationen streben die Kreation attraktiver USPs für eine ausgewählte Kundengruppe an, indem sie sich auf die Kernfunktionen fokussieren und so die Notwendigkeit materieller und finanzieller Ressourcen in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette minimieren. Sie reduzieren die Nutzungskosten und/oder Gesamtbetriebskosten erheblich, während die Qualitätsstandards erfüllt oder gar übertroffen werden." (Tiwari, Fischer und Kalogerakis, März  2016)

Vollzitat: Tiwari, R., Fischer, L. und Kalogerakis, K. (2016): “Frugal Innovation in Scholarly and Social Discourse: An Assessment of Trends and Potential Societal Implications”, gemeinschaftliches Paper der Fraunhofer MOEZ Leipzig und Hamburg, Technische Universität, Projekt BMBF-ITA, Leipzig und Hamburg.

Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten

Sind Sie bereit sich zu bewerben? Das Programm Impact Innovation der FFG und das Business Partnership Programm der ADA nehmen Bewerbungen von Projekten an, die zu den SDGs beitragen und den Prinzipien frugaler Innovation folgen.

Arbeiten Sie daran ein Problem zu definieren, welches mit frugaler Innovation gelöst werden kann? Entwickeln Sie eine wirkungsvolle Lösung für die Region Westbalkan und benötigen finanzielle Unterstützung um Ihre Idee weiterzuentwickeln? Sind Sie bereit Ihr Projekt umzusetzen und suchen Finanzierung um das Projekt zu starten? Im Rahmen dieses Pilotprojekts stellen ADA und FFG zwei Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für Projekte bereit, die durch frugalen Innovation einen positiven Beitrag zu gesellschaftlichem Fortschritt schaffen.

Newsletter - Jetzt anmelden!

Um mehr über das Projekt und die kommenden Events zu erfahren, melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an.

Kontakt

Dr. Maria Fischinger
Dr. Maria Fischinger
Frugale Innovation
T +43 5 7755 1216
maria.fischinger@ffg.at

Projektpartner

Das Projekt “Innovation für eine bessere Welt – zukunftsweisende Lösungen für nachhaltige Entwicklung” ist von der FFG und ADA beauftragt. Es wird durch den Impact Hub Vienna, gemeinsam mit einem Konsortium an Partnern, bestehend aus Advantage Austria (Österreich), 288 Grad Consulting (Österreich), Zentrum für Soziale Innovation (ZSI) (Österreich) und Smart Kolektiv (Serbien), durchgeführt.