International representation

The FFG represents Austria in numerous European and international aerospace institutions - from the European Space Agency (ESA) and the European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT) through to EU committees and other international organisations responsible for aerospace policy.

Bodies of the European Space Agency ESA

ESA Council
is ESA’s supreme policy-making body and decides on strategies, programmes and budgets
Representatives: Klaus Pseiner, Andreas Geisler

Industrial Policy Committee (IPC)
decides on ESA’s industrial and procurement policy
Representatives: Elisabeth Klaffenböck, Stephan Mayer

IPC-Technology Harmonisation Advisory Group (THAG) 
Representatives: Luc Berset, Stephan Mayer

Science Programme Committee (SPC)
decides on the future orientation of ESA’s science programme (scientific satellite missions)
Representative: Andre Peter

Ariane Launcher Programme Board (PB-LAU)
decides on the European space transportation programme of ESA, especially the Ariane Programme (European launcher Ariane)
Representative: Andre Peter

Programme Board for Human Spaceflight, Microgravity and Exploration (PB-HME)
Exploration and Utilisation Board for Human Spaceflight, Microgravity and Exploration (PB-HME-EUB)

decides on the ESA programmes for human spaceflight, microgravity research and future exploration
Representative: Andre Peter

Joint Board on Communication Satellite Programmes (JCB)
decides on ESA telecommunications programmes
Representative: Luc Berset

Programme Board on Satellite Navigation (PB-NAV)
decides on the ESA navigation programme
Representative: Mathias Schreitl

Earth Observation Programme Board (PB-EO)
decides on the Earth and environmental observation programmes of ESA
Representative: Luc Berset, Thomas Geist

Technical Advisory Board of PB-EO-DOSTAG: Chairman: Thomas Geisr, Representative: Luc Berset

Administrative and Finance Committee (AFC)
is primarily responsible for preparing and managing ESA’s annual budgets (mandatory and optional programmes) in coordination with member countries
Representative: Stephan Mayer

Security Committee (SEC)
deals with all security relevant matters of ESA, especially the implementation of agreements on the exchange of classified information.
Representative: Stephan Mayer

Programme Board SSA 
decides on Space Situational Awareness Programme
Representative: Stephan Mayer

Advisory Committee on Education (ACE)
advises ESA on education & outreach activities
Representative: Michaela Gitsch

Communications Group
coordinates communication activities of ESA with the individual space agencies
Representative: Michaela Gitsch


Eumetsat Council
supreme policy-making body, decides on strategy, programmes and budgets
Representative: Luc Berset

Eumetsat Industry Focal Point: Luc Berset

EU Bodies

European GNSS Programmes Committee (EGPC) -Management Board for European satellite navigation programmes

Representative: Mathias Schreitl


Administrative Board of the Euorpean GNSS Agency (GSA)

Representative: Mathias Schreitl


Space Surveillance and Tracking (SST) Tracking and Expert Group

Representative: Stephan Mayer


Horizon 2020 Programme Committee Space

Representative: Thomas Geist


Copernicus Committee (including working groups) -Steering Board of the European Earth Observation Programme Coperniucs

Representative: Thomas Geist


International Bodies

UN Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space
NEREUS (Network of European Regions using Space Technologies)
IAF (International Astronautical Federation)
IAA (International Academy of Astronautics)
COSPAR (Committee on Space Research)

ESPI (European Space Policy Institute)