Quantum Austria

Qu-AT

On behalf of the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF) and funded by the European Union under the Development and Resilience Plan (2022-2026), the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) and the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) are implementing the Quantum Austria Funding Initiative from 2022-2026. FFG and FWF will use a selection of their respective funding instruments for personnel and infrastructure for this purpose. Part of the funding is provided for research infrastructure in the highly innovative field of next generation high performance computing, quantum computing as well as their interconnection. The scientific issues of the projects in the field of quantum research and quantum technology may cover, for example, the following topics: - Specific preparation and control of quantum states; - New algorithms and mathematical theoretical concepts that make use of the superposition and entanglement of quantum states; - Developments and applications in quantum communication; quantum sensor technology, quantum metrology, quantum simulation, quantum computing, and quantum information; - Development of ideas based on quantum phenomena in the neighbouring fields of physics, mathematics, chemistry, and in biological systems.

Details

Program Owner / Sponsor BMBWF - Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research Next Generation EU
Topic
Funding instrument
Scope
national
Partner Not required
Submission
Submission with a proposal process
FFG-Area
Thematic Programmes
What is being funded Within the framework of Quantum Austria, projects in the field of quantum research and quantum technology are funded. Industrial research and experimental development projects as well as R&D infrastructure projects can be funded. The projects can be submitted as individual or collaborative projects.
Min. / max. funding Depending on the funding instrument / Depending on the funding instrument
Eligible costs Costs are funded in accordance with the FFG cost guidelines
Availability from 22.11.2021 - 30.06.2027

"Logoleiste"

The aim of the programme is to support excellent, transformative, and innovative basic research in the field of quantum physics, quantum computing, as well as next generation high performance computing; to ensure Austria’s continued competitiveness in the EU and globally; and to successfully use quantum technology for innovative products and services.

Description of the target group:
SMEs, large enterprises, universities, universities of applied sciences, competence centers, research institutions and start-ups

Contact

Dr. Olaf Hartmann
Dr. Olaf Hartmann
Programme Co-ordination
T +43 5 7755 4902

Quantum Austria

Quantentechnologien – von den Grundlagen zum Markt
Qu-AT

Im Auftrag des BMBWF und finanziert von der Europäischen Union im Rahmen des Aufbau- und Resilienzplans (2022-2026) werden FWF und FFG in den Jahren 2022 bis 2026 die Förderinitiative Quantum Austria umsetzen. FWF und FFG setzen dazu eine Auswahl ihrer jeweiligen Förderungsinstrumente für Personal und Infrastruktur ein. Ein Teil der Mittel sind für Forschungsinfrastruktur im höchstinnovativen Bereich von next generation High Performance Computing, Quantencomputing sowie deren Verknüpfung vorgesehen. Die wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen der Projekte aus dem Bereich der Quantenforschung und Quantentechnologie können sich beispielsweise über folgende Themenbereiche erstrecken: - gezielte Präparation und Kontrolle von Quantenzuständen; - neue Algorithmen und mathematisch-theoretische Konzepte, die Superposition und Verschränkung von Quantenzuständen ausnützen; - Entwicklungen und Anwendungen in den Bereichen Quantenkommunikation, Quantensensorik, Quantenmetrologie, Quantensimulation, Quantencomputing und Quanteninformation; - Entwicklung von auf Quantenphänomenen beruhenden Ideen in benachbarten Gebieten der Physik, der Mathematik, der Chemie und in biologischen Systemen.

Details

Programmeigentümer/ Geldgeber BMBWF - Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung Next Generation EU
Thema
Informationstechnologie, Lebenswissenschaften, Material und Produktion, Mobilität, Sicherheit und Verteidigung, Umwelt und Energie, Weltraum, weitere Themen
Förderinstrument
Geltungsbereich
national
Partner Nicht benötigt
Einreichung
Einreichung nach Ausschreibungs-Prinzip
FFG-Bereich
Thematische Programme
Was wird gefördert Im Rahmen von Quantum Austria werden Projekte gefördert, die dem Bereich der Quantenforschung und Quantentechnologie zuzuordnen sind. Es können Projekte der industriellen Forschung und der experimentellen Entwicklung sowie F&E-Infrastrukturprojekte gefördert werden. Die Projekte können als Einzel- oder Kooperationsvorhaben eingereicht werden.
Min. / max. Förderung Je nach Förderinstrument / Je nach Förderinstrument
Förderbare Kosten Es werden Kosten gemäß dem FFG Kostenleitfaden gefördert
Verfügbarkeit von 22.11.2021 - 30.06.2027

Ziel des Programmes ist es, exzellente, transformative und innovative Grundlagenforschung im Bereich Quantenphysik, Quantencomputing sowie ergänzend next generation High Performance Computing zu fördern, Österreich in der EU und weltweit weiterhin wettbewerbsfähig zu positionieren, sowie Quantentechnologie erfolgreich für innovative Produkte und Services zu nutzen.

Beschreibung der Zielgruppe:
KMU, GU, Universitäten, Fachhochschulen, Kompetenzzentren, Forschungseinrichtungen und Start-Ups

Kontakt

Dr. Olaf Hartmann
Dr. Olaf Hartmann
Programmleitung
T +43 5 7755 4902
olaf.hartmann@ffg.at

Weitere Informationen

Ausschreibung

Der Start der Ausschreibung ist für Mitte Dezember geplant.