The highest accolade for former Foreign Minister Peter Jankowitsch

International Academy of Astronautics honours Jankowitsch for his life’s work

Peter Jankowitsch, an Austrian politician and diplomat who shaped the United Nations space policy, was awarded the highest accolade by the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) on 28 March in Paris – the Theodore von Kármán prize – for his exceptional lifetime achievements. Peter Jankowitsch paved Austria’s route to the ESA and has also been a supporter and advisor to the FFG in the field of space research for many years.

Presentation of the IAA award to Peter Jankowitsch on 28 March 2022.

Presentation of the IAA award to Peter Jankowitsch on 28 March 2022. 


Peter Jankowitsch participated in drawing up various important space treaties, including the famous Moon Treaty. In 1978, Peter Jankowitsch became an ambassador to the OECD in Paris and prepared Austria’s association agreement with ESA. He was actively involved in disseminating the topic of space in politics and society, which also helped to drive European integration.


Peter Jankowitsch is a member of numerous committees and boards. He represented Austria at international space conferences both in Austria and abroad and regularly took part in the annual congresses of the International Astronautical Federation (IAF). He has been a member of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) since 1998, heading its Social Sciences section as a member of the IAA Board of Trustees and most recently held the role of IAA President. As the author of numerous articles and publications on space law and international space collaboration, he has given many keynote speeches and presentations at conferences, workshops and academic seminars. He is an honorary member of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL).

Peter Jankowitsch supported the founding of the European Space Policy Institute (ESPI) in Vienna and was appointed to several high-ranking ESA/EU groups for space policy. He also supported the FFG for many years as Chair of the FFG Advisory Council on Aeronautics and Space.