Austrian Life Sciences Programme

Austria on the way: becoming a research, production and business location for life sciences

Austria is an active life sciences location with internationally visible, excellent research and development and a growing corporate landscape. Compared to other innovative sectors, the life sciences sector is by far the most innovative, has the highest research rate and contributes significantly to national value creation.

The Austrian Life Sciences Programme supports innovative research and development projects and thus strengthens long-term competitiveness. They contribute significantly to the implementation of national and European strategies in the field of life sciences. The focus addresses the specifics of the industry and offers tailored funding for the entire development cycle. The programme aims to cushion problem areas in the industry (eg long development times, high development risk, strict regulatory requirements, low production capacities, high investment requirements) by providing research funding. 

Based on these objectives, two main goals were defined:

Goal 1: Leverage digitization potential in the healthcare sector.


The promotion of research and development projects for the digitization of health aspects (diagnostics, telemedicine, medical devices, etc.) will be an important lever.

Goal 2: Strengthen research and production location.


In order to prevent know-how from migrating and to increase the attractiveness of Austria as a location for research and production, other funding opportunities are to be examined in addition to funding offers for early development phases. The attractiveness of Austria as a research location in Europe is to be sustainably increased.

In 2022, the budget for the Austrian Life Sciences Programme totals 31 million Euros.

Until the submission deadline of 29.12.2022 (for lead projects 1.9.2022), the funding instruments "company projects industrial research" and "company projects experimental development" (budget - total: € 15 million) as well as "clinical trials - infectious diseases" (budget: € 12 million) and "lead project" (budget: € 4 million) will be offered in a first call.

Description of the target group:
The Austrian Life Sciences Programme is aimed at all companies as well as actors from university and non-university research, universities of applied sciences, higher technical educational institutions based in Austria. The participation of foreign partners is possible (depending on the funding instrument). The participation of actors along the entire value chain is required. Further information and any restrictions can be found in the respective instrument guides and in the call for proposals guide.

The essentials in brief

Program Owner / Sponsor BMDW - Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs FFG - Austrian Research Promotion Agency
Topic
Project type
Financing
national
Submission
Submission with a proposal process
What is being funded Funding is provided for R&D company projects and lead projects in the research categories of industrial research or experimental development, as well as clinical trials.
Welche Kosten werden gefördert? All costs attributable to the project that are incurred directly, actually and in addition (to conventional operating expenses) during the funding period according to the funding agreement (e.g. personnel costs, research infrastructure, material and equipment costs, travel costs and third-party costs) are eligible for funding. Details are described in the FFG Cost Guide.
Min. / max. running time 18 - 24 months
Availability from 01.04.2022 - 29.12.2022

Contact

Dr. Corinna Wilken
Dr. Corinna Wilken
Programm-Management, Expert Life Sciences
T +43 5 7755 1317
Dr. Amrei Strehl
Programm-Management, Expert Life Sciences
T +43 5 7755 1325
Marlene Zellner
Marlene Zellner
Advisory Service
T +43 5 7755 1518

Additional Information

Austrian Life Sciences Programme

Österreich auf dem Weg zum Forschungs-, Produktions- und Wirtschaftsstandort für Life Sciences

Österreich ist ein aktiver Life-Sciences-Standort mit international sichtbarer, exzellenter Forschung und Entwicklung und einer wachsenden Unternehmenslandschaft. Der Life-Sciences-Sektor ist im Vergleich zu anderen innovativen Sektoren der mit Abstand innovationsfreudigste, weist die höchste Forschungsquote auf und trägt maßgeblich zur nationalen Wertschöpfung bei.

Die Austrian Life Sciences Programme unterstützen innovative Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben und stärken damit die langfristige Wettbewerbsfähigkeit. Sie tragen wesentlich zur Umsetzung nationaler und europäischer Strategien im Bereich Lebenswissenschaften bei. Der Schwerpunkt geht auf die Spezifika der Branche ein und bietet für den gesamten Entwicklungszyklus maßgeschneiderte Förderungsangebote an. Mit dem Programm sollen Problemfelder der Branche (zB lange Entwicklungszeiten, hohes Entwicklungsrisiko, strenge regulatorische Vorgaben, wenig Produktionskapazitäten, hoher Investitionsbedarf) durch Forschungsförderung abgefedert werden. 

Aufbauend auf diesen Zielsetzungen wurden zwei Hauptziele definiert:

Ziel 1: Digitalisierungspotenzial im Gesundheitsbereich heben

Die Förderung von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten zur Digitalisierung von Gesundheitsaspekten (Diagnostik, Telemedizin, Medizinprodukte etc.) wird einen wichtigen Hebel darstellen.

Ziel 2: Stärkung von Forschungs- und Produktionsstandort

Um Abwanderung von Know-how zu verhindern und die Attraktivität des Österreich-Standorts zu erhöhen, sollen neben Förderungsangeboten für frühe Entwicklungsphasen auch weitere Förderungsangebote geprüft werden. Die Attraktivität des Forschungsstandorts Österreich in Europa soll nachhaltig erhöht werden.

Success-Stories

Wir möchten Ihnen fünf inspirierende Vorhaben vorstellen:

g.tec medical engineering GmbH, KU, OÖ
recoveriX - Schlaganfalltherapie für Arme und Beine mit BCI-Technologie

Innerspace GmbH, KU, Tirol
VR Cleanroom Behavior Traning: Unmittelbares Feedback im erlebnisbasierten Training

Lithoz GmbH, MU, Wien
Zähne, Gusskerne und Düsen aus dem 3D-Drucker? Das leisten Hochleistungskeramiken auf ihrer digitalen Safari zum 3D-Druck

Marinomed AG, GU, NÖ
Der Nasenspray, der Viren fängt - mit Carragelose (r) gegen Erkältungskrankheiten

Symptoma GmbH, KU, OÖ
Mit KI zur Einschätzung des COVID-19 Risikos - digitale Diagnosehilfe für die Präzisionsmedizin von morgen

Ausschreibung 2022

Im Jahr 2022 beträgt das Budget für die Austrian Life Sciences Programme insgesamt 31 Millionen EuroDie Einreichung ist laufend möglich, die Förderungsentscheidungen erfolgen an gewissen Stichtagen.

Bis zum Einreichschluss 29.12.2022 (für Leitprojekte 1.9.2022) werden in einer ersten Ausschreibung die Förderungsinstrumente „Unternehmensprojekte Industrielle Forschung" und "Unternehmensprojekte Experimentelle Entwicklung" (Budget - gesamt: € 15 Mio.) sowie "Klinische Studien - Infektionskrankheiten" (Budget: € 12 Mio.) und „Leitprojekt“ (Budget: € 4 Mio.) angeboten.

Ausschreibung 2023 (geplant)

Für das Jahr 2023 ist eine weitere Ausschreibung in Planung. Die Einreichung wird auch hier laufend möglich sein und die Förderungsentscheidungen zu gewissen Stichtagen erfolgen.

Beschreibung der Zielgruppe:
Die Austrian Life Sciences Programme richten sich an sämtliche Unternehmen sowie Akteure aus der universitären und außeruniversitären Forschung, Fachhochschulen, Höhere Technische Lehranstalten mit Sitz in Österreich. Die Teilnahme ausländischer Partner ist (abhängig vom Förderungsinstrument) möglich. Die Beteiligung von Akteuren entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette ist gefordert. Weitere Informationen und allfällige Einschränkungen finden Sie in den jeweiligen Instrumentenleitfäden und im Ausschreibungsleitfaden.

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

Programmeigentümer/ Geldgeber BMAW - Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Wirtschaft FFG - Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft
Thema
Projektart
Finanzierung
national
Einreichung
Einreichung nach Ausschreibungs-Prinzip
Was wird gefördert Gefördert werden F&E-Unternehmensprojekte und Leitprojekte jeweils in den Forschungskategorien Industriellen Forschung oder Experimentellen Entwicklung, sowie Klinische Studien.
Welche Kosten werden gefördert? Förderbar sind alle dem Projekt zurechenbaren Kosten, die direkt, tatsächlich und zusätzlich (zum herkömmlichen Betriebsaufwand) während des Förderungszeitraums laut Förderungsvertrag entstanden sind (zB Personalkosten, Forschungsinfrastruktur, Sach- und Materialkosten, Reisekosten und Drittkosten). Details sind im FFG-Kostenleitfaden beschrieben.
Min. / max. Laufzeit 18 - 24 Monate
Verfügbarkeit von 01.04.2022 - 29.12.2022

Kontakt

Dr. Corinna Wilken
Dr. Corinna Wilken
Programm-Management, Expert Life Sciences
T +43 5 7755 1317
Dr. Amrei Strehl
Programm-Management, Expert Life Sciences
T +43 5 7755 1325
Marlene Zellner
Marlene Zellner
Advisory Service
T +43 5 7755 1518